Skip navigation
Welcome, Guest! Please Login or Join

Loading...

Changing NWC's Time on Powerpak?

Mar 6, 2013 at 11:40:33 PM
Deathgaze (2)
avatar
< Meka Chicken >
Posts: 566 - Joined: 07/07/2012
Victoria
Profile
Is there anyway to change the NWC's time on a Powerpak? I've tried Googling it but not having much luck. Is there a game genie code to set it to the 6m 21s limit? My ROM defaults to roughly 5m 4s. Thank you.


Edited: 03/07/2013 at 12:30 AM by Deathgaze

Mar 6, 2013 at 11:54:19 PM
Elijah (161)
avatar
(John (JD) Heins) < Wiz's Mom >
Posts: 11424 - Joined: 08/09/2009
Iowa
Profile
You need an updated MAP69.MAP

-------------------------
Selling everything.
-------> *Click Here* <--------


God loves everyone

Mar 6, 2013 at 11:56:28 PM
Elijah (161)
avatar
(John (JD) Heins) < Wiz's Mom >
Posts: 11424 - Joined: 08/09/2009
Iowa
Profile
Download the attached file, Rename it to MAP69.MAP and copy it to your "POWERPAK" folder on your CF card overwriting any existing file with the same name.

-------------------------
Selling everything.
-------> *Click Here* <--------


God loves everyone


Edited: 03/07/2013 at 12:00 AM by Elijah

Mar 7, 2013 at 12:03:40 AM
Deathgaze (2)
avatar
< Meka Chicken >
Posts: 566 - Joined: 07/07/2012
Victoria
Profile
Edit: Nevermind. You are a legend. Thank you.


Edited: 03/07/2013 at 12:04 AM by Deathgaze

Mar 7, 2013 at 12:05:29 AM
removed04092017 (0)
This user has been banned -- click for more information.
< Bowser >
Posts: 7316 - Joined: 12/04/2010
Other
Profile
Just copy the file over the old one. Better yet, rename the old one then put a new one there.

Mar 7, 2013 at 12:16:26 AM
Deathgaze (2)
avatar
< Meka Chicken >
Posts: 566 - Joined: 07/07/2012
Victoria
Profile
Just tested it, works like a charm... but I still suck at it. Just got 640k points.


Edited: 03/07/2013 at 12:16 AM by Deathgaze

Mar 7, 2013 at 12:18:09 AM
Elijah (161)
avatar
(John (JD) Heins) < Wiz's Mom >
Posts: 11424 - Joined: 08/09/2009
Iowa
Profile
Awesome!

And don't get discouraged....Gotta start somewhere, Oaks start from acorns!

-------------------------
Selling everything.
-------> *Click Here* <--------


God loves everyone

Mar 7, 2013 at 12:38:12 AM
Deathgaze (2)
avatar
< Meka Chicken >
Posts: 566 - Joined: 07/07/2012
Victoria
Profile
Originally posted by: JD

Awesome!

And don't get discouraged....Gotta start somewhere, Oaks start from acorns!


My aim is to beat Thor's contest score. My problem is Tetris. I can run through Mario and Rad Racer like it's nobody's business. But then Tetris just kicks my butt. 

Mar 7, 2013 at 12:39:46 AM
Elijah (161)
avatar
(John (JD) Heins) < Wiz's Mom >
Posts: 11424 - Joined: 08/09/2009
Iowa
Profile
I would just focus on Tetris then. Have you seen the Ecstasy of Order Tetris documentary?

-------------------------
Selling everything.
-------> *Click Here* <--------


God loves everyone

Mar 7, 2013 at 12:46:24 AM
Deathgaze (2)
avatar
< Meka Chicken >
Posts: 566 - Joined: 07/07/2012
Victoria
Profile
Watched it the other day actually and it did inspire me to get good at it. Mind you I haven't really played Tetris til recently.

I've been playing Mario and Rad Racer longer than I can remember. My sister got Tetris it on the Game Boy's launch day, and she has always been really good at it. Averaging 150 to 175 lines per game. But that discouraged me and haven't picked up Tetris til just recently.

But I will get good at it. I dunno if the best way to train is to play NWC or actual NES Tetris.

Mar 7, 2013 at 12:51:00 AM
RegularGuyGamer (103)
avatar
(Kyle aka Zombieguygeezus ) < Bowser >
Posts: 7229 - Joined: 01/06/2013
Pennsylvania
Profile
Dont use NES Tetris for NWC. NWC is different. I love Tetris and can toot my own horn as being good at it and that is actually my biggest downfall for NWC bc I get into my regular groove of expected pieces and NWC just has a different flow to it.

Mar 7, 2013 at 1:06:37 AM
Deathgaze (2)
avatar
< Meka Chicken >
Posts: 566 - Joined: 07/07/2012
Victoria
Profile
I'm pretty bad at both. But I seem even worse at Tetris on NWC. Maybe cause I'm under more pressure.

Mar 7, 2013 at 1:13:38 AM
RegularGuyGamer (103)
avatar
(Kyle aka Zombieguygeezus ) < Bowser >
Posts: 7229 - Joined: 01/06/2013
Pennsylvania
Profile
What I did was put it on the longest setting and just got to Tetris to practice a little. The way it starts out doesnt have as much variation as the NES version so you can map out your attack once u get used to the flow lol

Mar 7, 2013 at 1:17:27 AM
Deathgaze (2)
avatar
< Meka Chicken >
Posts: 566 - Joined: 07/07/2012
Victoria
Profile
You mean that the pieces are predetermined and not randomized like the NES version?

Mar 7, 2013 at 1:41:32 AM
RegularGuyGamer (103)
avatar
(Kyle aka Zombieguygeezus ) < Bowser >
Posts: 7229 - Joined: 01/06/2013
Pennsylvania
Profile
Yea kinda. Play it enough times in a row and youll start to notice what Im talking about. Especially the first batch of pieces.

Mar 7, 2013 at 2:07:21 AM
bunnyboy (81)
avatar
(Funktastic B) < Bowser >
Posts: 7477 - Joined: 02/28/2007
California
Profile
The sequence of Tetris pieces depends on your score in SMB. There are only a few different patterns and some are considered better for getting Tetrises (Tetrii?). Aim for 10,300 or 10,400.

Mar 7, 2013 at 2:23:34 AM
RegularGuyGamer (103)
avatar
(Kyle aka Zombieguygeezus ) < Bowser >
Posts: 7229 - Joined: 01/06/2013
Pennsylvania
Profile
*bows to sensei*

Mar 7, 2013 at 2:38:09 AM
bunnyboy (81)
avatar
(Funktastic B) < Bowser >
Posts: 7477 - Joined: 02/28/2007
California
Profile
Buy the repro, its all in the manual

Mar 7, 2013 at 2:46:40 AM
Deathgaze (2)
avatar
< Meka Chicken >
Posts: 566 - Joined: 07/07/2012
Victoria
Profile
Originally posted by: bunnyboy

The sequence of Tetris pieces depends on your score in SMB. There are only a few different patterns and some are considered better for getting Tetrises (Tetrii?). Aim for 10,300 or 10,400.


Is there anything you don't know? I do wanna buy the repro, I love your work I do want to support you. But American international shipping is crazy.

Mar 7, 2013 at 7:47:06 AM
RegularGuyGamer (103)
avatar
(Kyle aka Zombieguygeezus ) < Bowser >
Posts: 7229 - Joined: 01/06/2013
Pennsylvania
Profile
I knew I read those tips somewhere If you ever have the extra kitty and the cartidge is available I totally recommend it! It was one of the best purchases I made!

For Tetris and NWC, I find when Im really catching my stride in one game, I lose it in another. So I just focus on one at a time bc going back and forth does more harm for me than good.

Mar 7, 2013 at 10:16:05 AM
Mog (140)
avatar
(Mr Mog) < King Solomon >
Posts: 4596 - Joined: 05/02/2009
New York
Profile
Originally posted by: Deathgaze

But American international shipping is crazy.



International shipping on retrozone is like $5 for first class with out tracking.


Edited: 03/07/2013 at 10:16 AM by Mog