Skip navigation
Welcome, Guest! Please Login or Join

Loading...

Reccomendations for good A/V Switches and Amps?

Apr 19 at 1:17:32 PM
AppleTractorBeam (0)
avatar
< Crack Trooper >
Posts: 112 - Joined: 06/17/2016
Illinois
Profile
I'm in need of new A/V switches for my gameroom. If anyone knows really good switches, post them here, however the ones I specifically need have to have:

-4 or more inputs
-S Video and Composite
-2 or more outputs
-Powered
-No Signal Loss

If anyone has good recommendations for an A/V switch and/or Amp that fits this criteria, please post it here and let me know. I do not mind having to buy two if feasible.

-------------------------

Apr 19 at 4:56:19 PM
Professor Gull (4)
avatar
(Professor Gull) < Little Mac >
Posts: 72 - Joined: 04/26/2016
Iowa
Profile
I have 2 of these and they work pretty good for what they are.

They are not powered and the only bad thing is its only 4 ports but as far as video degrading i did not see any with this one. I think I got it at Radio Shack for $20.

-------------------------
I tried doing nothing and always ended up doing something instead.

I don't check here on weekends so bear with me folks thats just my private game time not meant to be interrupted.


https://www.facebook.com/professo...
Gull Gaming on Youtube!
https://twitter.com/ProfessorDotG...

Apr 20 at 4:47:36 AM
The 8 Bit Redux (0)
avatar
< Meka Chicken >
Posts: 649 - Joined: 03/16/2014
New South Wales
Profile
Do you want it highly functional or highly stylish?

Apr 20 at 6:54:08 PM
AppleTractorBeam (0)
avatar
< Crack Trooper >
Posts: 112 - Joined: 06/17/2016
Illinois
Profile
Originally posted by: The 8 Bit Redux

Do you want it highly functional or highly stylish?

Highly functional. But nothing that will run me over $100.
 

-------------------------

Apr 20 at 11:39:59 PM
The 8 Bit Redux (0)
avatar
< Meka Chicken >
Posts: 649 - Joined: 03/16/2014
New South Wales
Profile
Originally posted by: AppleTractorBeam
 
Originally posted by: The 8 Bit Redux

Do you want it highly functional or highly stylish?

Highly functional. But nothing that will run me over $100.
 

Then I've got nothing sorry.
 

Apr 21 at 12:33:43 AM
gunpei (6)
avatar
< El Ripper >
Posts: 1466 - Joined: 02/08/2015
Illinois
Profile
I'm curious why you require something powered?

With ever more devices (not just games) I gave up on button switchers and started using patch bays. You can get short patch cables from monoprice.com .

Apr 21 at 9:48:26 AM
AppleTractorBeam (0)
avatar
< Crack Trooper >
Posts: 112 - Joined: 06/17/2016
Illinois
Profile
Originally posted by: gunpei

I'm curious why you require something powered?

With ever more devices (not just games) I gave up on button switchers and started using patch bays. You can get short patch cables from monoprice.com .


I need 2 or more outputs, one to my CRT, other to my DVR, and they have to be powered so those multiple outputs aren't subject to signal loss.

Thanks for suggesting patch bays though. I was reading up on them and I'm intrigued, how exactly do you have yours set up?

-------------------------

Apr 21 at 11:33:31 AM
gunpei (6)
avatar
< El Ripper >
Posts: 1466 - Joined: 02/08/2015
Illinois
Profile
Originally posted by: AppleTractorBeam

Thanks for suggesting patch bays though. I was reading up on them and I'm intrigued, how exactly do you have yours set up?

Screwed to the bottom of the loft above my desk. They're also rack-mountable. The TV, stereo receiver, computer ins and outs are all permanently connected, as are the VCR, DVD and CD players, and a couple other things. I can connect game consoles, video cameras, or anything new without digging around behind stuff. One could route 2 outputs with Y cables, but I don't know whether that would degrade the signal. It's just copper wires and connectors, no circuits. So I would expect not, but I haven't tried/not sure how to prove.


Edited: 04/21/2017 at 11:34 AM by gunpei

Apr 21 at 1:21:06 PM
DefaultGen (20)
avatar
(Tyler Wilkin) < Meka Chicken >
Posts: 694 - Joined: 04/15/2007
United States
Profile
Would an old Extron matrix switcher work? I work with their newer video gear at work, but their old analog stuff is extremely cheap. I don't see one off hand that supports composite, S-Video, audio, and multiple outputs all in one so you may need multiple devices to get both S-Video and composite up (I think you can get any combination of 3 of those 4 things though). Look at the Extron MAV and SVA matrix switches.

-------------------------