Skip navigation
Welcome, Guest! Please Login or Join

Loading...

Banana Prince repro question

Jan 30, 2013 at 10:48:32 PM
Kuros (8)
avatar
(Kuros the Knight) < Crack Trooper >
Posts: 159 - Joined: 01/12/2010
United States
Profile
http://callanbrown.com/index.php/...

Trying to follow the above tutorial for shits and giggles, and I have the eproms programmed, using Mission IMpossible as the donor cart, have everything wired up when I realize...the eeprom has 32 legs, and the board only has 28....

What the heck am I supposed to do now?

-------------------------
 

Jan 30, 2013 at 10:49:23 PM
removed04092017 (0)
This user has been banned -- click for more information.
< Bowser >
Posts: 7316 - Joined: 12/04/2010
Other
Profile
compare the 28 to 32 pin wirings and wire the extra/unmatched legs?

Jan 31, 2013 at 12:36:00 AM
Taco! (202)
avatar
< El Ripper >
Posts: 1258 - Joined: 03/09/2011
United States
Profile
Thats one of those 352026 konami TLROM boards aint it?

If it's 128kb it can be done, just float pins 1,2,31,32. You only need to tap into Pin 2 for A16 anyway. Althought you might want to wire Pins 1,30,31,32 together, an old tip from one of Al's guides back in the day.

Bend up pins 1,2,24,31,32.

Wire from -> to
Pin 2 -> Hole 22 (24 on regular board)
Pin 24 -> Pin 16 / Hole 14 (16 on regular board)

If it's 256kb then you need a different board or to figure out where the added address line would tap into the MMC3.

-------------------------
FO/FS Thread : http://nintendoage.com/forum/mess...
Looking to buy and sell arcade / JAMMA game boards? PM me!
I also sell eproms, eeproms, sram, 74LS/HC and other various parts for repros. Message me for details. 
Looking for arcade machine buyers in Florida and surrounding states. Have games, will travel. 

Jan 31, 2013 at 7:28:25 AM
Kuros (8)
avatar
(Kuros the Knight) < Crack Trooper >
Posts: 159 - Joined: 01/12/2010
United States
Profile
Well the issue is, the tutorial has you put wires into pins 1 and 2 in both chr and pgr, but those holes on a 28 pin board are required for the legs of a 32 pin eeprom.

Pin 1,2 and 32,31 are floating. Is there a tutorial or something visual I can follow that shows how to use one of these boards for a 32 pin eeprom swap?

If I had a super v beach vollyball cart, I'd just use that one as it appears to be a 32 pin board. I wish the cartdb didn't suggest 28 pin boards when you clearly need 32 pin ones. ugh.

-------------------------
 

Jan 31, 2013 at 4:37:05 PM
Kuros (8)
avatar
(Kuros the Knight) < Crack Trooper >
Posts: 159 - Joined: 01/12/2010
United States
Profile
Anyone?

-------------------------
 

Jan 31, 2013 at 5:00:37 PM
Taco! (202)
avatar
< El Ripper >
Posts: 1258 - Joined: 03/09/2011
United States
Profile
Yes, the somewhat vague tutorial does say to put wires in holes 1 and 2. However that's not necessary for 27c1001.

Pull up a spec sheet on the 27c1001/010 and the 27c2001/020 and you'll notice there's an A line on the 2001/020 thats not there on the 1001/010. That added address line represents a double in the size of the memory. I believe the 010 stops at A16, on the 2001 the highest address line is A17, the 4001 tops at A18. So on the 27c010 Pin 30 is not connected, meaning if you don't run a wire from it or to it, there will be 0 change in function. Pin 31 on the 010 I believe is Program which is a signal specifically used for burning data to the chip and has no impact on functionality at all and is a waste of time to mess with. However the 27c020 has an address line at 30 and the 27c4001 has one at 31 so unless youre using a 27c2001/4001 you don't need to worry about pins 30 and 31 at all.

If the PRG or CHR is 256 then you need a new board, however if it's 128kb you can do this with the board you have. If it's 128kb then do what I said in the last post and use pins 2 and 24 like the guide says then run a wire from pin 1 to pins 32,31,30. This is how it's done with UNROM and should be no different. I'd do the same thing for the CHR eprom as well.

Sorry if I didn't write that out very clearly, I hope you get what i'm trying to say.

-------------------------
FO/FS Thread : http://nintendoage.com/forum/mess...
Looking to buy and sell arcade / JAMMA game boards? PM me!
I also sell eproms, eeproms, sram, 74LS/HC and other various parts for repros. Message me for details. 
Looking for arcade machine buyers in Florida and surrounding states. Have games, will travel. 

Jan 31, 2013 at 5:11:42 PM
Kuros (8)
avatar
(Kuros the Knight) < Crack Trooper >
Posts: 159 - Joined: 01/12/2010
United States
Profile
Yeah I'm sorry too Taco...I'm not all that savvy with this stuff. I can follow the instructions, and I know how to solder etc, but if I can't see something, I have a hard time wrapping my noodle around it. I'm using 27C1000 eeproms.

-------------------------
 

Jan 31, 2013 at 5:35:40 PM
Taco! (202)
avatar
< El Ripper >
Posts: 1258 - Joined: 03/09/2011
United States
Profile
Nah, you're good dude. Didn't mean to sound rude or anything.

You should take some time and look at data sheets for the eproms. They have a picture of the chip with labels on all the pins. You only need to really worry about the following signals , D1-8, A1-highest line, GND and Power. I believe VPP is power, you'll see P with a line over it in some spec sheets, that's a program line and only used when programming the chip.

So in a nutshell as long as the address lines are rewired (A16 to hole 22 or 24 on 32 pin boards), the D pins are good, and it's grounded and has power it should work.

Pin 2 aka A16 always runs to hole 22 or 24 (28 / 32 hole boards respectively)
Pin 24 to GND / Hole 14/16
Pin 30 (with 27c020) runs to hole 1 (A17)
Pin 31 (with 27c4001) runs to hole 2 (A18)

Same with CHR, if it's only 128 you dont need to worry about pins 30 and 31, just 2 and 24 and maybe solder from Pin 1 to pins 32,31,30. I've seen it work and not work with the bridge from pin 1 to 32,31,30.


-------------------------
FO/FS Thread : http://nintendoage.com/forum/mess...
Looking to buy and sell arcade / JAMMA game boards? PM me!
I also sell eproms, eeproms, sram, 74LS/HC and other various parts for repros. Message me for details. 
Looking for arcade machine buyers in Florida and surrounding states. Have games, will travel. 

Jan 31, 2013 at 7:38:45 PM
Kuros (8)
avatar
(Kuros the Knight) < Crack Trooper >
Posts: 159 - Joined: 01/12/2010
United States
Profile
Taco...it's funny, cause I just read MY reply, and I could see how you maybe thought I was being a wisenheimer. LOL

I hate to ask, and if you don't have the time, I completely understand, but would you mind drawing me a pic of how it should be wired up? With a 28 hole board, with a 32 pin 27C1000 eeprom? This is a 128k x 8 eeprom.

If you can't, I totally understand. Maybe you know of a link with a tutorial for it, or something you could link so I could grab it? I'm an old school visual learner, and these things don't leave room for "fiddling" around to see if I get it after 30 chances. I find that if I mess up even once, I generally destroyed the board, or chip. And I just don't have the money or parts to do that.

Just want a repro cart to play. LOL

-------------------------
 

Jan 31, 2013 at 7:44:57 PM
Taco! (202)
avatar
< El Ripper >
Posts: 1258 - Joined: 03/09/2011
United States
Profile
I'll see what I can do, I think I have one here and if I do i'll try to wire it up accordingly to self check my instructions and then provide some documentation / pictures.

-------------------------
FO/FS Thread : http://nintendoage.com/forum/mess...
Looking to buy and sell arcade / JAMMA game boards? PM me!
I also sell eproms, eeproms, sram, 74LS/HC and other various parts for repros. Message me for details. 
Looking for arcade machine buyers in Florida and surrounding states. Have games, will travel. 

Jan 31, 2013 at 8:06:42 PM
Kuros (8)
avatar
(Kuros the Knight) < Crack Trooper >
Posts: 159 - Joined: 01/12/2010
United States
Profile
No rush either Taco. If it's something you can do, that..would be amazing. No doubt would be useful to others here as well.
In the interim, Lincoln suggested once before in another thread I asked something similar about, that you could use smb2 and smb3 boards instead. Both are TS ROM boards with MMC3B onboard, and 32 pin to boot.

Would this board be usable with this tutorial I wonder? You rock Taco!

-------------------------
 

Feb 18, 2013 at 1:47:26 PM
Gorillazero (51)
avatar
(Well That's Just Prime) < Lolo Lord >
Posts: 1747 - Joined: 07/26/2012
Michigan
Profile
I can take a picture of mine when I get home.

Thanks

-------------------------
Bounty: Neo Geo Pocket and Color Games PAL/UK. Dive Alert, Pocket Reversi, Puzzle Link 1 and 2, Gals Fighters

Feb 20, 2013 at 9:45:01 AM
elbobelo (0)
avatar
< Tourian Tourist >
Posts: 44 - Joined: 04/11/2009
Maryland
Profile
Banana Prince (ENG) graphic restore
http://acmlm.kafuka.org/uploader/...

Hey guys, here is a Banana Prince IPS patch I made.

Patch the German translated to English version and it will restore all the Japanese graphics.

Enjoy.

Feb 20, 2013 at 10:48:33 AM
Gorillazero (51)
avatar
(Well That's Just Prime) < Lolo Lord >
Posts: 1747 - Joined: 07/26/2012
Michigan
Profile
I forgot about this, I'll upload tonight

-------------------------
Bounty: Neo Geo Pocket and Color Games PAL/UK. Dive Alert, Pocket Reversi, Puzzle Link 1 and 2, Gals Fighters

Feb 24, 2014 at 11:36:13 PM
gunstar9 (1)
avatar
< Eggplant Wizard >
Posts: 224 - Joined: 02/21/2013
United States
Profile
Sorry to dig up an old topic but I'm about to go completely bonkers finding a correct patch for this. The only translation I can find available is the German to English one, but even with the amazing graphics restore patch here the games music runs too fast in NTSC mode. I know if I put this on cart this way my NES will run the music wrong / fast. The tutorial linked in the OP shows the guy using an English patch for the Japanese rom... I cannot find this patch ANYWHERE, I even tried Googling the file name bananaJE.ips.

Please, if anyone knows a patch to have this game in English and running at the correct speed on an NTSC system, help me out!