Skip navigation
Welcome, Guest! Please Login or Join

Loading...

Reproduction Help with Rockman MI (Rockman 4 hack) MMC5 repro *SOLVED!*

Aug 23, 2012 at 3:41:29 AM
jpx72 (0)

(> jpx72.detailne.sk <) < Tourian Tourist >
Posts: 36 - Joined: 07/20/2010
Slovakia
Profile
Hello!
Maybe some of you already noticed the awesome Rockman MI hack available here:
http://www4.atpages.jp/borokobo/neo/download.html
(http://www.romhacking.net/hacks/910/)

The MMC5 version of this hack is (according to Nestopia) :
Board:              ExROM (non-standard), Mapper 5
PRG-ROM:      1024k
V-RAM:             8k
W-RAM:           8k
 
According to http://wiki.nesdev.com/w/index.php/MMC5_pinout the MMC5 mapper supports 1024KB of PRG (MMC5 has pin for PRG A19).

So my question: is it possible to run this hack on an ETROM board? I see that this hack needs CHR RAM instead of CHR ROM. Can somebody help me to discover how can the CHR ROM be exchanged for CHR RAM on ETROM board?
And most importantly - will this hack even run on real hardware? Can somebody try it out on,maybe on a PowerPak?
Thanks everybody!

-------------------------
 


Edited: 06/27/2015 at 01:45 PM by NintendoAge Moderator

Aug 24, 2012 at 4:39:04 PM
Forte (109)
avatar
(God of Destruction) < Kraid Killer >
Posts: 2024 - Joined: 08/27/2011
South Carolina
Profile
If anyone can ever get this onto a cartridge that will play on an NES, they can have all the money in my wallet.

-------------------------

Aug 27, 2012 at 8:08:59 PM
Guntz (115)
avatar
< Master Higgins >
Posts: 8279 - Joined: 05/07/2011
Canada
Profile
Doesn't CHR-RAM work the same way on every NES board that uses it? You could try using this guide to convert your ET-ROM board to CHR-RAM compatible.

http://www.nintendoage.com/forum/...

Aug 28, 2012 at 4:26:43 AM
jpx72 (0)

(> jpx72.detailne.sk <) < Tourian Tourist >
Posts: 36 - Joined: 07/20/2010
Slovakia
Profile
Thanks for the link, I will try it and post my results! (Can take a while since I have tons of other projects undergoing)

-------------------------
 

Sep 1, 2012 at 5:11:47 PM
Lincoln (138)
avatar
(Frank W. Doom) < Bowser >
Posts: 5838 - Joined: 12/19/2008
California
Profile
Originally posted by: Forte

If anyone can ever get this onto a cartridge that will play on an NES, they can have all the money in my wallet.


better start counting



this thread happened to come up as I was working on a different project last week, and they happen to have similar requirements. I just got some 8 mbit eproms in the mail today, so I had a chance to try this out. It's (mostly) fine as far as I can tell. the only thing that seems off is that every once in a while the game will pop up the "start" menu, where you can pick your special weapons and whatever. I don't know if that's an issue with the rom or my test board or maybe my grumpy old famicom, but it's worth pointing out.

So anyway, I have the parts to put this in a famicom cart. It's a bigger cart, so I think you'll need a top loader if you want to play it with a converter, or an actual famicom, or a modified nes shell/cart tray.



-------------------------
ebay auctionsrunning FS thread famiROM thread for .nes info and splitting / rom hacks link/discussion

Sep 3, 2012 at 3:33:24 AM
jpx72 (0)

(> jpx72.detailne.sk <) < Tourian Tourist >
Posts: 36 - Joined: 07/20/2010
Slovakia
Profile
@ Lincoln
Awesome, thanks for the test! I haven't got into doing this but I will, very soon.
Anyway any hints on the actual cart building? How did you connected the A19 of the EPROM?
Also was there any problem with CHR-RAM instead of CHR-ROM substitution?

PS Can you reveal what is your primary project on this board?

-------------------------
 


Edited: 09/03/2012 at 03:41 AM by jpx72

Sep 3, 2012 at 10:11:24 AM
BouncekDeLemos (81)
avatar
(Bouncy Blooper) < Wiz's Mom >
Posts: 10713 - Joined: 07/21/2011
Florida
Profile
I'm not aware of this hack... what does it do?

-------------------------
Originally posted by: dra600n

I feel bad, but, that's magic.
Sell/Trade: NA - http://goo.gl/Bi25pL... SA - http://goo.gl/qmKao... PSC - http://goo.gl/VYlKhP...
http://goo.gl/xmzKR...

 

Sep 3, 2012 at 11:30:24 AM
Lincoln (138)
avatar
(Frank W. Doom) < Bowser >
Posts: 5838 - Joined: 12/19/2008
California
Profile
Originally posted by: jpx72

@ Lincoln
Awesome, thanks for the test! I haven't got into doing this but I will, very soon.
Anyway any hints on the actual cart building? How did you connected the A19 of the EPROM?
Also was there any problem with CHR-RAM instead of CHR-ROM substitution?

PS Can you reveal what is your primary project on this board?


it was the doki doki panic repro I put up in my FS thread. I ended up using my available cart to build that.

on mmc5 boards A19 is hole 30. there are some other differences. here are my notes:



PRG

pin 1 (A19) -> hole 30 pin 2 (A16) -> hole 24 pin 24 (/OE) -> hole 31 (prg /ce on mmc5) pin 30 (A17) -> hole 1 pin 31 (A18) -> hole 2

CHR-RAM

align pin 1 in hole 3 pin 22 (/OE) -> hole 31 (chr /RD from the console) pin 26 (CE2) + 28 (Vcc) -> hole 32 (5v) pin 27 (R/W) -> cart pin 56 for nes games or 47 for famicom (/WR from the console)

I used and EWROM board for testing as ddp needed the 32K sram. I think EKROM would meet your requirements but ETROM would also work. Unfortunately these are hard to find nes games, but there are cheap famicom donors available.

I pulled the ram chip from a pro wrestling cart for the chr-ram. 

-------------------------
ebay auctionsrunning FS thread famiROM thread for .nes info and splitting / rom hacks link/discussion


Edited: 09/03/2012 at 11:35 AM by Lincoln

Sep 4, 2012 at 5:26:20 AM
jpx72 (0)

(> jpx72.detailne.sk <) < Tourian Tourist >
Posts: 36 - Joined: 07/20/2010
Slovakia
Profile
Thanks Lincoln! I checked one famicom ETROM board and it's amazing that it's ready for 1024KB PRG rom. Maybe they planned ahead (since the biggest known official game has 512KB PRG rom).
Will try to build it today!

-------------------------
 

Sep 5, 2012 at 7:41:42 AM
jpx72 (0)

(> jpx72.detailne.sk <) < Tourian Tourist >
Posts: 36 - Joined: 07/20/2010
Slovakia
Profile
Originally posted by: Lincoln
 the only thing that seems off is that every once in a while the game will pop up the "start" menu, where you can pick your special weapons and whatever. I don't know if that's an issue with the rom or my test board or maybe my grumpy old famicom, but it's worth pointing out.

I have been playing the rom in Nestopia today and the occasional start-menu pop-ups occured there also. So it must be an issue of the rom itself. Also I got some unexpected weapon changes from time to time, but that may be my clumsy fingers, because I believe there is some button combo implemented to change weapons.

Anyway the start-menu pops suck, it would be great if somebody can contact the author about it and ask for help. But I believe he's japanese so it can be a problem.

-------------------------
 

Sep 5, 2012 at 4:43:44 PM
Lincoln (138)
avatar
(Frank W. Doom) < Bowser >
Posts: 5838 - Joined: 12/19/2008
California
Profile
I had the same feeling about the menu popup, like it was responding to a certain button combination. It seemed like I was always pushing something when it happened, but I couldn't figure out what.

did you have any luck putting it on a cart?

-------------------------
ebay auctionsrunning FS thread famiROM thread for .nes info and splitting / rom hacks link/discussion

Sep 5, 2012 at 4:54:20 PM
removed04092017 (0)
This user has been banned -- click for more information.
< Bowser >
Posts: 7316 - Joined: 12/04/2010
Other
Profile
It's probably corrupting controller writes from some DPCM samples.

Sep 6, 2012 at 1:42:20 AM
jpx72 (0)

(> jpx72.detailne.sk <) < Tourian Tourist >
Posts: 36 - Joined: 07/20/2010
Slovakia
Profile
Cart is almost ready, chips burned and soldered, only a bit of rewiring needed, hopefuly will finish today!
I have been trying to translate the japanese readme for the hack, and there's the compatibility chart for different emulators. If I got it right, it runs flawlessly in FCEUX and not so good in Nestopia. Since Nestopia is closer to real hardware, I am afraid the compatibility issues will pop up on the real cart.
Will report later.

-------------------------
 

Sep 6, 2012 at 3:28:33 AM
jpx72 (0)

(> jpx72.detailne.sk <) < Tourian Tourist >
Posts: 36 - Joined: 07/20/2010
Slovakia
Profile
Check out the artwork created as a label for this hack by a tallented Famicomworld member:
www.famicomworld.com/forum/index.php?topic=6808.msg121611#ms...

-------------------------
 


Edited: 09/06/2012 at 07:58 AM by jpx72

Sep 7, 2012 at 3:48:29 AM
jpx72 (0)

(> jpx72.detailne.sk <) < Tourian Tourist >
Posts: 36 - Joined: 07/20/2010
Slovakia
Profile
Originally posted by: Lincoln

PRG

pin 1 (A19) -> hole 30 pin 2 (A16) -> hole 24 pin 24 (/OE) -> hole 31 (prg /ce on mmc5) pin 30 (A17) -> hole 1 pin 31 (A18) -> hole 2

CHR-RAM

align pin 1 in hole 3 pin 22 (/OE) -> hole 31 (chr /RD from the console) pin 26 (CE2) + 28 (Vcc) -> hole 32 (5v) pin 27 (R/W) -> cart pin 56 for nes games or 47 for famicom (/WR from the console)

I'm having trouble getting the cart to work, still seeing scrambled image. I'm having trouble with the CHR ROM/RAM replacement. I traced the pinout of the CHR ROM on HVC-ETROM (Suikoden):
                             ---_---
       CHR A17 - |01   32| - +5V
       CHR A18 - |02   31| - CHR /RD
       CHR A15 - |03   30| - CHR A19
       CHR A12 - |04   29| - CHR A14
        CHR A7  - |05   28| - CHR A13
        CHR A6  - |06   27| - CHR A8
        CHR A5  - |07   26| - CHR A9
        CHR A4  - |08   25| - CHR A11
        CHR A3  - |09   24| - CHR A16
        CHR A2  - |10   23| - CHR A10
        CHR A1  - |11   22| - CHR /A13
        CHR A0  - |12   21| - CHR D7
        CHR D0  - |13   20| - CHR D6
        CHR D1  - |14   19| - CHR D5
        CHR D2  - |15   18| - CHR D4
          GND     - |16   17| - CHR D3
                           -------
The 6264:
                       ---_---
            NC - |01   28| - +5V
           A12 - |02   27| - /WE
              A7 - |03   26| - CS2
              A6 - |04   25| - A8      
              A5 - |05   24| - A9      
              A4 - |06   23| - A11       
             A3  - |07   22| - /OE       
              A2 - |08   21| - A10       
              A1 - |09   20| - /CS1    
              A0 - |10   19| - D7      
             D0 - |11   18| - D6      
             D1 - |12   17| - D5      
             D2 - |13   16| - D4      
          GND - |14   15| - D3      
                         -------

So
pin 22 (/OE) of RAM goes to CHR /RD
pin 26 (CS2) of RAM goes to +5V (and of course pin 28 of RAM)
pin 27 (/WE) of RAM goes to R/W (slot)

What about pin 20 (/CS1) of the RAM? Is it ok to be connected to CHR /A13?

And what about unconnected pins of the former ROM? Pins A13 - A19?

-------------------------
 


Edited: 09/07/2012 at 03:50 AM by jpx72

Sep 7, 2012 at 10:27:13 AM
Lincoln (138)
avatar
(Frank W. Doom) < Bowser >
Posts: 5838 - Joined: 12/19/2008
California
Profile
I traced the CHR-RAM /CE1 line on a Little Mermaid cart and it goes to pin 65 on the (nes) slot, which is CHR A13 according to this:
http://wiki.nesdev.com/w/index.ph...

I have CHR rom /CE as pin 56 on the (fc) slot for my hvc-ewrom board, which is also CHR A13 according to that doc. so that's where I hooked mine up and it works fine. Looking at bootgod's site, suikoden looks the same so I don't think that's the issue.

What did you use for a ram chip? Final Fantasy 3 is finicky about what kind of ram chip will work. For testing rockman or ddp I used a couple different ram chips and they both worked, but at least one of them did not work with ff3. I assumed it wasn't going to be as much of an issue here but maybe that's wrong.

maybe post some pics of your work.

-------------------------
ebay auctionsrunning FS thread famiROM thread for .nes info and splitting / rom hacks link/discussion

Sep 9, 2012 at 3:00:27 AM
Laseki (74)
avatar
(mooga moon) < El Ripper >
Posts: 1124 - Joined: 05/09/2012
Ohio
Profile
I'd love to see a video of this playing on an NES, especially the Wily capsule battle since there is so much on screen during it.

-------------------------
All I do is speedrun Megaman X games honestly.
http://www.twitch.tv/laseki...
https://twitter.com/LasekiSP...
https://www.youtube.com/user/Lase...

Sep 10, 2012 at 2:50:59 AM
jpx72 (0)

(> jpx72.detailne.sk <) < Tourian Tourist >
Posts: 36 - Joined: 07/20/2010
Slovakia
Profile
Hey! Sorry but got no time on weekend to work on this!
I used GoldStar GM76C88AL-15 for my memory. I will be working on it this week, I must measure all connections for mistakes. And I can post some pics later, maybe someone will spot a mistake on them sooner than me.

-------------------------
 

Sep 11, 2012 at 11:33:13 AM
jpx72 (0)

(> jpx72.detailne.sk <) < Tourian Tourist >
Posts: 36 - Joined: 07/20/2010
Slovakia
Profile
Hey! Finaly my Rockman4MI works (thanks Lincoln!)! I have made a stupid mistake and couldn't identify it for four days, but when I was redrawing my schematics for showing them here to ask for help, I have found it and facepalmed myself

The bad news is that the weapons menu that should only appear on Start push, is appearing from time to time, without any hint why or where. I don't think it's a button combo anymore. As said by 3gengames, it really looks like it depends on some sound effects. But god knows...

Anyway here's my cart:

And one last thing, since I suck at this game I asked over at Famicomworld for invincibility game genie code. So if you want to give it a try, here it is: OXKPUZSX (thanks to UglyJoe)

-------------------------
 


Edited: 09/12/2012 at 12:55 AM by jpx72

Sep 19, 2012 at 1:04:08 AM
jpx72 (0)

(> jpx72.detailne.sk <) < Tourian Tourist >
Posts: 36 - Joined: 07/20/2010
Slovakia
Profile
GOOD NEWS!!!!!
Puresabe (the author of the Rockman MI hack) actually did a PATCH to repair the faulty controller behavior! I have got a reply from kuja killer at romhacking.net about a patch that the author - Puresabe - did in response to my effort to make Rockman MI run on real hardware!
Read more (in Japanese) on Puresabe's webpage:
http://borokobo.web.fc2.com/neo/i...
Here's the direct link to the patch: http://borokobo.web.fc2.com/neo/h...

Anyway we need some testing (in Nestopia / real hardware only) to see if his patch works!

-------------------------
 


Edited: 09/19/2012 at 01:10 AM by jpx72

Sep 28, 2012 at 12:42:55 AM
Lincoln (138)
avatar
(Frank W. Doom) < Bowser >
Posts: 5838 - Joined: 12/19/2008
California
Profile
Thats great, I'll have to give this another look. So the ips is for the already-converted mmc5 rom?

-------------------------
ebay auctionsrunning FS thread famiROM thread for .nes info and splitting / rom hacks link/discussion

Sep 28, 2012 at 7:04:41 AM
jpx72 (0)

(> jpx72.detailne.sk <) < Tourian Tourist >
Posts: 36 - Joined: 07/20/2010
Slovakia
Profile
Yes just patch your MMC5 hacked rom with it! I have no more menu popping up unexpectedly since that patch!

-------------------------
 

Sep 28, 2012 at 8:25:57 AM
TheShamblingMound (6)

(S Mound) < Tourian Tourist >
Posts: 28 - Joined: 08/31/2012
Connecticut
Profile
as asked before but un-replied, what the frig is this hack of? Title screen looks like normal Rockman 4...

-------------------------



Sep 28, 2012 at 9:13:47 AM
jpx72 (0)

(> jpx72.detailne.sk <) < Tourian Tourist >
Posts: 36 - Joined: 07/20/2010
Slovakia
Profile
And why haven't you tried it yet?
Every hack is different, you may not like it at all. This particular is a graphics and gameplay hack. And it's a complete game hack.

-------------------------
 

Sep 28, 2012 at 9:16:57 AM
jpx72 (0)

(> jpx72.detailne.sk <) < Tourian Tourist >
Posts: 36 - Joined: 07/20/2010
Slovakia
Profile
Ah sorry didn't quite read your question, it is of course a hack of Rockman 4.

-------------------------