Skip navigation
Welcome, Guest! Please Login or Join

Loading...

UNROM board question

Jul 28, 2012 at 1:34:17 PM
leatherrebel5150 (179)
avatar
(kyle sisco) < Ridley Wrangler >
Posts: 2658 - Joined: 03/13/2011
Pennsylvania
Profile
Got another question . Trying to do California Raisins and Adventures of Doctor Franken. So I'm setting up the boards(UNROM) and I see that the EPROM chips required have 32 legs (I'm using M27C2001) and the board has 28. Do I just place it so pins 1, 2, 31, 32 are off the the right not over any holes? But if I did that the wriring laid out by Nes Dev I'm using as a guide would not work.

UNROM (mapper 2):
Bend up pins 1, 2, 24 and 31
Solder pin 2 to hole 22 (A16)
Solder pin 24 to GND (OE)

Thanks

Jul 28, 2012 at 1:48:02 PM
Taco! (202)
avatar
< El Ripper >
Posts: 1258 - Joined: 03/09/2011
United States
Profile
Straight from al bailey's repro post, verified working, done it myself on both a standard UNROM board and konami UNROM.


On the 27C1001 EPROM, bend up pin 1, 2, 24, 31, 32.


Place wire from pin 1 to pin 30, 31, 32 on the EPROM.


Place a wire from pin 2 to the socket hole corresponding to pin 24 (hole 22 on a 28 hole board)


Place a wire from pin 16 to pin 24 on the EPROM

EDIT : Make sure your pad your file properly or it may not work properly. I didn't do that the first time, didn't work for me.

-------------------------
FO/FS Thread : http://nintendoage.com/forum/mess...
Looking to buy and sell arcade / JAMMA game boards? PM me!
I also sell eproms, eeproms, sram, 74LS/HC and other various parts for repros. Message me for details. 
Looking for arcade machine buyers in Florida and surrounding states. Have games, will travel. 


Edited: 07/28/2012 at 01:56 PM by Taco!

Jul 28, 2012 at 2:13:49 PM
leatherrebel5150 (179)
avatar
(kyle sisco) < Ridley Wrangler >
Posts: 2658 - Joined: 03/13/2011
Pennsylvania
Profile
Originally posted by: Taco!

Straight from al bailey's repro post, verified working, done it myself on both a standard UNROM board and konami UNROM.


On the 27C1001 EPROM, bend up pin 1, 2, 24, 31, 32.


Place wire from pin 1 to pin 30, 31, 32 on the EPROM.


Place a wire from pin 2 to the socket hole corresponding to pin 24 (hole 22 on a 28 hole board)


Place a wire from pin 16 to pin 24 on the EPROM

EDIT : Make sure your pad your file properly or it may not work properly. I didn't do that the first time, didn't work for me.


What do you mean pad file properly?

Jul 28, 2012 at 2:42:22 PM
removed04092017 (0)
This user has been banned -- click for more information.
< Bowser >
Posts: 7316 - Joined: 12/04/2010
Other
Profile
if it's a 128K file on a 256KB chip, replicate it just to be sure. Although you should always either ground or pull the extra lines high, don't float them.

Jul 28, 2012 at 2:51:50 PM
SUBSCRIBER
Proveaux (77)
avatar
(Proveaux Proveaux) < Lolo Lord >
Posts: 1893 - Joined: 05/12/2012
United States
Profile
Beat to it.

Here's the code to do it though.

copy /b *.chr chr.bin
copy /b *.prg prg.bin

Put this in a text document in the same folder as the chr and prg and rename it something.bat. Copy and paste the chr and then the prg untill they equal the size of each of their eproms. Run bat and you should have 2 bin files ready to burn to eprom.

-------------------------
(Wife)Someone got 3 packages and it wasn't me...(Me)What are they?(Wife)I dunno. Tapes. Or whatever u call those things.


Edited: 07/28/2012 at 03:01 PM by Proveaux

Jul 28, 2012 at 4:15:23 PM
leatherrebel5150 (179)
avatar
(kyle sisco) < Ridley Wrangler >
Posts: 2658 - Joined: 03/13/2011
Pennsylvania
Profile
Ah yea I did fill the chip I just have not heard it said that way before. Thanks

Jul 28, 2012 at 5:02:38 PM
removed04092017 (0)
This user has been banned -- click for more information.
< Bowser >
Posts: 7316 - Joined: 12/04/2010
Other
Profile
Or, since I believe he said he uses readnes2 or readnes3, just put numbers after the file name and it'll do it too:

ReadNES3.exe ProgramToSplit.nes 1 1

change the first number for the number of times to repeat the program, and the 2nd to change the character repetition.


Edited: 07/28/2012 at 06:43 PM by removed04092017

Jul 28, 2012 at 6:14:53 PM
Taco! (202)
avatar
< El Ripper >
Posts: 1258 - Joined: 03/09/2011
United States
Profile
No worries, some programmers 0 fill for you, I just do it to be 100% as I use a Willem 5.0

Some UNROM games you may encounter a resistor shaped component near the PRG ROM, you can desolder it and flip it to the other side or use a Konami-UNROM board. These boards go vertical with the PRG and don't require moving that component. Here a link to a list of appropriate donors http://bootgod.dyndns.org:7777/se...

Let us know how the repro turns outs. Follow that guide by Al Bailey and I'm sure it'll work though. Just go over your solder points at the pcb to wire connection if it doesn't boot, 99% of the time that's the problem.

-------------------------
FO/FS Thread : http://nintendoage.com/forum/mess...
Looking to buy and sell arcade / JAMMA game boards? PM me!
I also sell eproms, eeproms, sram, 74LS/HC and other various parts for repros. Message me for details. 
Looking for arcade machine buyers in Florida and surrounding states. Have games, will travel. 

Jul 28, 2012 at 6:31:37 PM
SUBSCRIBER
Proveaux (77)
avatar
(Proveaux Proveaux) < Lolo Lord >
Posts: 1893 - Joined: 05/12/2012
United States
Profile
I used Silent Service as a donor before. I had 6 copies and 2 of them had vertical prg. Hopefully you get lucky and find a donor cart that does.

-------------------------
(Wife)Someone got 3 packages and it wasn't me...(Me)What are they?(Wife)I dunno. Tapes. Or whatever u call those things.

Jul 28, 2012 at 9:44:21 PM
leatherrebel5150 (179)
avatar
(kyle sisco) < Ridley Wrangler >
Posts: 2658 - Joined: 03/13/2011
Pennsylvania
Profile
Originally posted by: Taco!

Straight from al bailey's repro post, verified working, done it myself on both a standard UNROM board and konami UNROM.


On the 27C1001 EPROM, bend up pin 1, 2, 24, 31, 32.


Place wire from pin 1 to pin 30, 31, 32 on the EPROM.


Place a wire from pin 2 to the socket hole corresponding to pin 24 (hole 22 on a 28 hole board)


Place a wire from pin 16 to pin 24 on the EPROM

EDIT : Make sure your pad your file properly or it may not work properly. I didn't do that the first time, didn't work for me.
I noticed you said for 27C1001, I'm using a 27C2001 will the wiring still be the same for this chip?



Jul 29, 2012 at 3:51:57 AM
removed04092017 (0)
This user has been banned -- click for more information.
< Bowser >
Posts: 7316 - Joined: 12/04/2010
Other
Profile
It has 1 more data line, look where it is and do what needs to be done. I'd say ground it myself. But pulling it high is fine to. Just pick one.


Edited: 07/29/2012 at 03:52 AM by removed04092017

Jul 29, 2012 at 11:35:56 PM
Gorillazero (51)
avatar
(Well That's Just Prime) < Lolo Lord >
Posts: 1747 - Joined: 07/26/2012
Michigan
Profile
Hope this helps, it's been answered before. 1001 and 2001 are similar, you just need to "pad the rom to a 256kb size file".


-------------------------
Bounty: Neo Geo Pocket and Color Games PAL/UK. Dive Alert, Pocket Reversi, Puzzle Link 1 and 2, Gals Fighters


Edited: 07/29/2012 at 11:37 PM by Gorillazero

Jul 30, 2012 at 3:55:25 PM
leatherrebel5150 (179)
avatar
(kyle sisco) < Ridley Wrangler >
Posts: 2658 - Joined: 03/13/2011
Pennsylvania
Profile
^ Thats what I ended up doing wish I saw that picture earlier haha, thanks

Jul 30, 2012 at 10:15:00 PM
Gorillazero (51)
avatar
(Well That's Just Prime) < Lolo Lord >
Posts: 1747 - Joined: 07/26/2012
Michigan
Profile
it's actually from this board. I found it when I had a similar question (lurking)

Gorilla

-------------------------
Bounty: Neo Geo Pocket and Color Games PAL/UK. Dive Alert, Pocket Reversi, Puzzle Link 1 and 2, Gals Fighters

Aug 14, 2014 at 12:16:24 PM
aupton (10)
avatar
(aupton aupton) < Eggplant Wizard >
Posts: 260 - Joined: 03/17/2011
New Jersey
Profile
Sorry to resurrect an old thread, but I'm trying to achieve the same goal of placing California Raisins on a KONAMI-UNROM board and I haven't had success.
 
I've followed the diagram exactly and have used Famirom to pad the file to fit a 27c010/1024kb. 
 
Perhaps this KONAMI-UNROM board is not compatible with California Raisins ?
 
http://bootgod.dyndns.org:7777/se...

Any help would be appreciated, below is a pic of my work based on this thread.

Thanks!

KONAMI-UNROM_FAIL

Aug 14, 2014 at 12:23:11 PM
ihavethatpma (324)
avatar
(Doombutt Jazzmouth) < Bowser >
Posts: 5281 - Joined: 06/30/2009
Washington
Profile
I've always connected pins 1, 30, 31 & 32 together with these UNROM boards, is your 1 or 31 pin connected to anything?


Edited: 08/14/2014 at 12:24 PM by ihavethatpma

Aug 14, 2014 at 12:52:48 PM
Lincoln (133)
avatar
(Frank W. Doom) < Bowser >
Posts: 5585 - Joined: 12/19/2008
California
Profile
Originally posted by: aupton

Sorry to resurrect an old thread, but I'm trying to achieve the same goal of placing California Raisins on a KONAMI-UNROM board and I haven't had success.
 
I've followed the diagram exactly and have used Famirom to pad the file to fit a 27c010/1024kb. 
 
Perhaps this KONAMI-UNROM board is not compatible with California Raisins ?
 
http://bootgod.dyndns.org:7777/search.php?unif=KONAMI-UNROM

Any help would be appreciated, below is a pic of my work based on this thread.

Thanks!

KONAMI-UNROM_FAIL

Konami boards are fine (they are easier to work on IMO). 

my wiring:

pin 1 don't touch
pin 2 bend up and connect to hole 22 (under pin 24)
pin 24 up to GND, usually pin 16
pin 30 don't touch
pin 31 up and leave disconnected
pin 32 connect to pin 30, not necessary to bend

and check your mirroring when you're done.


-------------------------
ebay auctionsrunning FS thread famiROM thread for .nes info and splitting / rom hacks link/discussion


Edited: 08/14/2014 at 12:53 PM by Lincoln

Aug 14, 2014 at 1:46:39 PM
aupton (10)
avatar
(aupton aupton) < Eggplant Wizard >
Posts: 260 - Joined: 03/17/2011
New Jersey
Profile
Originally posted by: Lincoln

Originally posted by: aupton

Sorry to resurrect an old thread, but I'm trying to achieve the same goal of placing California Raisins on a KONAMI-UNROM board and I haven't had success.
 
I've followed the diagram exactly and have used Famirom to pad the file to fit a 27c010/1024kb. 
 
Perhaps this KONAMI-UNROM board is not compatible with California Raisins ?
 
http://bootgod.dyndns.org:7777/search.php?unif=KONAMI-UNROM

Any help would be appreciated, below is a pic of my work based on this thread.

Thanks!

KONAMI-UNROM_FAIL

Konami boards are fine (they are easier to work on IMO). 

my wiring:

pin 1 don't touch
pin 2 bend up and connect to hole 22 (under pin 24)
pin 24 up to GND, usually pin 16
pin 30 don't touch
pin 31 up and leave disconnected
pin 32 connect to pin 30, not necessary to bend

and check your mirroring when you're done.
 


Lincoln, as always, thank you for your help. You have been incredibly helpful.

However I've confirmed that my wiring matches yours and my continunity checker confirms it as well.

The only thing I can think of is that GND isn't pin 16 on the eprom, hole 14 on this board ?



Aug 14, 2014 at 2:18:27 PM
aupton (10)
avatar
(aupton aupton) < Eggplant Wizard >
Posts: 260 - Joined: 03/17/2011
New Jersey
Profile
Hmmm I checked and hole 14 is in fact a shared ground... I know the eprom was good, it verified correctly... Odd..

Aug 14, 2014 at 2:52:19 PM
Lincoln (133)
avatar
(Frank W. Doom) < Bowser >
Posts: 5585 - Joined: 12/19/2008
California
Profile
Hmm, dunno. pin 16 is definitely fine. Might be just a fluke I guess. Did you have any trouble during disassembly? The konami boards generally let go of the chips easier, but it's still possible to pull up a trace. Do you get anything at all on screen?

-------------------------
ebay auctionsrunning FS thread famiROM thread for .nes info and splitting / rom hacks link/discussion

Aug 14, 2014 at 3:16:21 PM
aupton (10)
avatar
(aupton aupton) < Eggplant Wizard >
Posts: 260 - Joined: 03/17/2011
New Jersey
Profile
Originally posted by: Lincoln

Hmm, dunno. pin 16 is definitely fine. Might be just a fluke I guess. Did you have any trouble during disassembly? The konami boards generally let go of the chips easier, but it's still possible to pull up a trace. Do you get anything at all on screen?


Just the white-ish grey screen of disappointment...  No problem during disassembly, you're right, compared to the other boards it was much more willing to be desoldered.

Maybe my soldering iron is too hot and damaged the chip?  I think I have another board, I'll test with it tonight... 

Thanks again for your help.

Oct 13, 2014 at 6:13:44 PM
CloudGamerX (29)

< Eggplant Wizard >
Posts: 392 - Joined: 05/19/2014
Profile
So would a 27c020 eprom be fine? Or is their a different wiring for that? I remember my first attempt at making a UNROM repro failed miserably, and i am attempting it again using Goonies 2 to make a copy of Castlevania: Chorus of Mysteries.

Oct 14, 2014 at 9:36:51 AM
labelwhore (0)

< Crack Trooper >
Posts: 121 - Joined: 08/05/2014
Colorado
Profile
Originally posted by: CloudGamerX

So would a 27c020 eprom be fine? Or is their a different wiring for that? I remember my first attempt at making a UNROM repro failed miserably, and i am attempting it again using Goonies 2 to make a copy of Castlevania: Chorus of Mysteries.



Yes, that's what I've been using. I've only had one failed attempt with UNROM boards, and I think that was due to me not doubling up the PRG file. My wiring has been as follows:

Bend up pins 1, 2, 24 and 31 and 32
Solder pin 2 to hole 22 (A16)
Solder pin 24 to GND (OE) Usually pin 16 on the PRG chip
Solder pin 32 to pin 30 (which is now in hole 28)


Edited: 10/14/2014 at 09:38 AM by labelwhore

Mar 25, 2015 at 10:18:26 PM
CloudGamerX (29)

< Eggplant Wizard >
Posts: 392 - Joined: 05/19/2014
Profile
Semi-off topic, but i am attempting a UOROM repro for my own collection, but i can't find any good directions on this. The only ones i could find was on NESDEV, but it doesn't work for me. Can anyone else provide some help? Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Mar 26, 2015 at 6:15:16 AM
leatherrebel5150 (179)
avatar
(kyle sisco) < Ridley Wrangler >
Posts: 2658 - Joined: 03/13/2011
Pennsylvania
Profile
Originally posted by: CloudGamerX

Semi-off topic, but i am attempting a UOROM repro for my own collection, but i can't find any good directions on this. The only ones i could find was on NESDEV, but it doesn't work for me. Can anyone else provide some help? Any help would be greatly appreciated!

What game are you doing that is UOROM? I don't know of any hacks/translations that use it