Skip navigation
Welcome, Guest! Please Login or Join

Loading...

FFIII Repro Help

Jun 3, 2010 at 3:59:23 PM
nullending (5)
avatar
(Ethan Ferrell) < Eggplant Wizard >
Posts: 375 - Joined: 01/17/2010
Texas
Profile
I'd like to make my own FFIII repro as a fun project. I think I have it planned out, but I'd like some help and verification.

For the ROM I used the standard Japanese build with an English IPS patch by Alex W. Jackson, Neill Corlett and SoM2Freak.

I used cajoNES to separate the ROM. It only outputted a PRG and a PRM. I'm assuming I can use an existing CHR on the donor board. I checked the mapping in Nintendulator and it uses mapper 4, and of course requires a battery--thus TKROM board is needed.

I checked BootGod's DB for a donor and found Capcom's Gold Medal Challenge '92 to be compatible, and that is one of the spare carts.

On the EPROM conversions file on nesdev it says:
TKROM & TSROM (mapper 4):
PRG socket:
Bend up pins 1, 2, 24, 30 and 31 (or cut tracks 2, 24, 30 and 31)
Solder pin 2 to hole 24 (A16)
Solder pin 24 to GND (OE)
Solder pin 30 to hole 1 (A17)
Solder pin 31 to hole 2 (A18)
CHR socket:
Bend up pins 1, 2, 22, 24, 30, 31 (or cut tracks 2, 22, 24 and 30)
Solder pin 2 to hole 24 (A16)
Solder pin 22 to hole 31 (CE or CHR /A13)
Solder pin 24 to hole 2 (OE or CHR /RD)
Solder pin 30 to hole 1 (A17)
Again, I need to confirm that since cajoNES didn't output a CHR file, I can use the existing chip on the donor.

Another thing is, the PRG for FFIII is 512 KB, which means I'll need to use a 4 Mb chip (27C040). How do the CHR and the size of the PRG work?

-------------------------
I am on a hiatus until further notice. Work and my loved one's health require my attention.

Jun 3, 2010 at 4:01:26 PM
MasonSushi (82)
avatar
(Mason 8-Bit_Nes) < King Solomon >
Posts: 3221 - Joined: 04/13/2009
South Carolina
Profile
I thought FFIII used the Super Mario 2 with the middle pins. I haven't heard of it Gold Medal '92 being compatible.

Good luck on building it.

-------------------------
Come visit my youtube channel

MasonSushi YouTube Channel




Jun 3, 2010 at 4:07:54 PM
nullending (5)
avatar
(Ethan Ferrell) < Eggplant Wizard >
Posts: 375 - Joined: 01/17/2010
Texas
Profile
This is the output of Nintendulator
Loading file 'C:\nes\Final Fantasy III (J to Eng).nes'...
iNES ROM image loaded: mapper 4 (MMC3/MMC6) - Fully supported!
PRG: 512KB; CHR: 0KB
Flags: Battery-backed SRAM, Vertical mirroring
Loaded successfully!
Loaded SRAM (8192 bytes).
Performing hard reset...
Reset complete.

Shows mapper 4 with battery backup, isn't TKROM the only mapper 4 with a battery? Any does anyone know about the CHR?

Since there isn't a CHR it makes be believe that I need to use a SNROM board with a battery, but SNROM has a hardware of MMC1 which is mapper 1 right?


Edit:
nesreproductions.com does say that FF3 requires SMB2 with the middle pins, but how do you save your game without a battery?

Edit:
Capcom's Gold Medal Challenge '92 uses MMC3 and has a battery, but it also has a CHR. SMB2 has the MMC3 hardware, but no battery? SMB2 also has a CHR...I guess I need help on understanding what the CHR is and how it relates to the PRG.

-------------------------
I am on a hiatus until further notice. Work and my loved one's health require my attention.


Edited: 06/03/2010 at 04:34 PM by nullending

Jun 3, 2010 at 4:31:35 PM
0xero0 (220)
avatar
(Drunk Robot) < Kraid Killer >
Posts: 2380 - Joined: 05/03/2010
Oregon
Profile
Originally posted by: MasonSushi

I thought FFIII used the Super Mario 2 with the middle pins. I haven't heard of it Gold Medal '92 being compatible.

Good luck on building it.



I'll second that. Mario 2 w/ all pins

-------------------------
Open to trades http://www.nintendoage.com/forum/...

Jun 3, 2010 at 4:37:12 PM
nullending (5)
avatar
(Ethan Ferrell) < Eggplant Wizard >
Posts: 375 - Joined: 01/17/2010
Texas
Profile
Originally posted by: 0xero0

Originally posted by: MasonSushi

I thought FFIII used the Super Mario 2 with the middle pins. I haven't heard of it Gold Medal '92 being compatible.

Good luck on building it.



I'll second that. Mario 2 w/ all pins


Do you have to hook up a battery to the 8K SRAM to save games? Also, do you use the existing CHR since all the sprites are stored in the PRG for FFIII?

Edit:
Capcom's Gold Medal Challenge '92 uses MMC3C hardware, and SMB2 uses MMC3A. The only other TKROM board with battery that has MMC3A is Shadowgate. So maybe Gold Medal Challenge isn't compatible, but Shadowgate might?

-------------------------
I am on a hiatus until further notice. Work and my loved one's health require my attention.


Edited: 06/03/2010 at 04:55 PM by nullending

Jun 3, 2010 at 11:13:33 PM
0xero0 (220)
avatar
(Drunk Robot) < Kraid Killer >
Posts: 2380 - Joined: 05/03/2010
Oregon
Profile

http://www.thenesdump.com/Mappers/TNROM.htm

Better yet, buy one from him


-------------------------
Open to trades http://www.nintendoage.com/forum/...

Jun 4, 2010 at 2:21:45 PM
nullending (5)
avatar
(Ethan Ferrell) < Eggplant Wizard >
Posts: 375 - Joined: 01/17/2010
Texas
Profile
Alright, for anyone else wanting to do this, here is the information I found and I believe it to be correct:

Using Super Mario Bros. 2 (full pin-outs) ONLY

TKROM & TSROM (mapper 4):
PRG socket:
Bend up pins 1, 2, 24, 30 and 31 (or cut tracks 2, 24, 30 and 31)
Solder pin 2 to hole 24 (A16)
Solder pin 24 to GND (OE)
Solder pin 30 to hole 1 (A17)
Solder pin 31 to hole 2 (A18)

CHR socket:
Bend up pins 1, 2, 22, 24, 30, 31 (or cut tracks 2, 22, 24 and 30)
Solder pin 2 to hole 24 (A16)
Solder pin 22 to hole 31 (CE or CHR /A13)
Solder pin 24 to hole 2 (OE or CHR /RD)
Solder pin 30 to hole 1 (A17)


PRG ROM - 128KB (28pin):

---U---
PRG A15 - |01 28| - +5V
PRG A12 - |02 27| - PRG A14
PRG A7 - |03 26| - PRG A13
PRG A6 - |04 25| - PRG A8
PRG A5 - |05 24| - PRG A9
PRG A4 - |06 23| - PRG A11
PRG A3 - |07 22| - PRG A16
PRG A2 - |08 21| - PRG A10
PRG A1 - |09 20| - PRG /CE
PRG A0 - |10 19| - PRG D7
PRG D0 - |11 18| - PRG D6
PRG D1 - |12 17| - PRG D5
PRG D2 - |13 16| - PRG D4
GND - |14 15| - PRG D3
-------

CHR ROM - 128KB (32pin):

---U---
CHR A17 - |01 32| - +5V
CHR /RD - |02 31| - CHR /A13
CHR A15 - |03 30| - +5V
CHR A12 - |04 29| - CHR A14
CHR A7 - |05 28| - CHR A13
CHR A6 - |06 27| - CHR A8
CHR A5 - |07 26| - CHR A9
CHR A4 - |08 25| - CHR A11
CHR A3 - |09 24| - CHR A16
CHR A2 - |10 23| - CHR A10
CHR A1 - |11 22| - GND
CHR A0 - |12 21| - CHR D7
CHR D0 - |13 20| - CHR D6
CHR D1 - |14 19| - CHR D5
CHR D2 - |15 18| - CHR D4
GND - |16 17| - CHR D3
-------

EPROM 27C040/27C4001 512KBytes (32pin):

---_---
VPP - |01 32| - VCC
A16 - |02 31| - A18
A15 - |03 30| - A17
A12 - |04 29| - A14
A7 - |05 28| - A13
A6 - |06 27| - A8
A5 - |07 26| - A9
A4 - |08 25| - A11
A3 - |09 24| - OE
A2 - |10 23| - A10
A1 - |11 22| - CE
A0 - |12 21| - D7
D0 - |13 20| - D6
D1 - |14 19| - D5
D2 - |15 18| - D4
GND - |16 17| - D3

Adding a battery to TSROM
Material needed :
- 2 diodes (lowest forward voltage is the better)
- 2 resistors (1 kilo ohm)
- 1 capacity (2.2 microfarad) (optional, but recommended)
- 1 battery (obviously)

Power supply (VCC) of RAM connected in parallel with the capacity (polarized correctly) to the cathode of the two diodes.
The first diode goes directly to VCC, the second diode connects to the positive born of the battery trough the 1 kiloohm resistor.
The last resistor must go from the positive CE line to ground, so that when the MMC isn't powered, the line is effectively to ground.
Early SNROM boards (revisions 02 and 03) does lack the capacity and the result is saves being often corrupted.


To my knowledge you leave the CHR there since all the sprite information is store in the PRG. It never calls to the CHR so I suppose it shouldn't affect anything other than 'completing the circuit'.

I haven't tried this yet since all my copies of SMB2 are missing the middle pins.

Edit:
I have been informed that you need to rewire a CHR RAM in place of the CHR ROM.

-------------------------
I am on a hiatus until further notice. Work and my loved one's health require my attention.


Edited: 06/04/2010 at 11:13 PM by nullending