Skip navigation
NintendoAge
Welcome, Guest! Please Login or Join
Loading...

Reproduction Tengai Makyou Far East Eden Repro Help...

Nov 16, 2017 at 3:02:27 PM
ocdgamer (116)
avatar
(Kody K) < Eggplant Wizard >
Posts: 428 - Joined: 02/25/2011
Ohio
Profile
I'm looking to build a repro of the new Tengai Makyou translation and I hit a snag on some wiring. The game has 2 roms that need swapped out. The new translation has a 2MB program rom and a 5MB data rom. I can swap out the chips without issue, but the cart needs a couple wires to allow the last half of the expanded program rom to work. I found some descriptions of how to do this, but I half understand it. I have a ISL84544 switch, unsure of the wiring. Working with a 2MB chip which I directly wired a A21 to the SPC7110 chip. It will turn on, just won't pass the rom check screen.

1) Force the A23 input to the address decoder to be permanently high, and now feed A23 into a switch (eg ISL84544)
to select between the two 1MB ROM chips -or- invert it and add to address for 2MB ROM chip address bus value.

2) Tengai Makyou Zero is also compatible with the real cart adding two wires. 90-9f:8000-FFFF.

Tengai Makyou PCB pinout
https://wiki.superfamicom.org/spc7110

This is what I have so far.

-------------------------
I have lots of SNES & NES reproductions for sale! >> Nintendoage Thread >> My new website!!


Edited: 11/28/2017 at 04:11 PM by ocdgamer

Nov 16, 2017 at 3:36:17 PM
SoleGooseProductions (128)
avatar
(Beau ) < King Solomon >
Posts: 3445 - Joined: 04/22/2013
Michigan
Profile
Awesome to see that this is finally translated! Doesn't help you with your question, but always good to have another SNES RPG on the stack.

-------------------------
"The light that burns twice as bright burns half as long..." ~ Blade Runner

SoleGooseProductions.com


Nov 19, 2017 at 11:38:23 PM
juanmiglesias (0)

(juan iglesias) < Cherub >
Posts: 3 - Joined: 06/23/2010
Venezuela
Profile
Following this

Nov 21, 2017 at 9:17:26 PM
Mightydidz (0)
avatar
< Crack Trooper >
Posts: 128 - Joined: 09/07/2014
Quebec
Profile
What about the xlm file thats needed by the translated rom?

Nov 22, 2017 at 6:45:18 AM
Ice Man (18)

< Meka Chicken >
Posts: 504 - Joined: 05/13/2016
Germany
Profile
It just tells the emulator where the graphics/data is stored. Not needed anyomre with the snes9x 1.55 release at all.

Nov 28, 2017 at 4:14:42 PM
ocdgamer (116)
avatar
(Kody K) < Eggplant Wizard >
Posts: 428 - Joined: 02/25/2011
Ohio
Profile
Added a new pic of what I did so far.

-------------------------
I have lots of SNES & NES reproductions for sale! >> Nintendoage Thread >> My new website!!

Nov 29, 2017 at 9:46:12 AM
Ice Man (18)

< Meka Chicken >
Posts: 504 - Joined: 05/13/2016
Germany
Profile
That's pretty much what I wanted to do as well.

However, that 29L3211 can only hold 4MB while the graphics is 5MB, isn't it? So you'd have to piggyback a 2nd one and decode it with a 73'139 maybe. Not sure on that one.

Nov 29, 2017 at 11:10:03 AM
ocdgamer (116)
avatar
(Kody K) < Eggplant Wizard >
Posts: 428 - Joined: 02/25/2011
Ohio
Profile
The chip I have on there is a 26L6420 which holds 8MB so it all fit on one chip. But yeah with the 29L3211 you have to double up. I do have a second board with that setup. This one is just a bit cleaner

-------------------------
I have lots of SNES & NES reproductions for sale! >> Nintendoage Thread >> My new website!!

Nov 30, 2017 at 6:15:58 AM
Ice Man (18)

< Meka Chicken >
Posts: 504 - Joined: 05/13/2016
Germany
Profile
What programmer supports the 26L6420? I havr TL866 and GQ-4X. Both do not seem to support it.  

Dec 2, 2017 at 5:32:31 AM
retronerd (0)
avatar
< Little Mac >
Posts: 82 - Joined: 06/02/2015
Sweden
Profile
There is a guy on ebay who already sells it
https://www.ebay.com/itm/Far-East...

Dec 3, 2017 at 8:11:36 AM
retronerd (0)
avatar
< Little Mac >
Posts: 82 - Joined: 06/02/2015
Sweden
Profile
Originally posted by: ocdgamer

The chip I have on there is a 26L6420 which holds 8MB so it all fit on one chip. But yeah with the 29L3211 you have to double up. I do have a second board with that setup. This one is just a bit cleaner

Have you figured it out?
 

Dec 4, 2017 at 8:58:56 AM
ocdgamer (116)
avatar
(Kody K) < Eggplant Wizard >
Posts: 428 - Joined: 02/25/2011
Ohio
Profile
No sorry I haven't

-------------------------
I have lots of SNES & NES reproductions for sale! >> Nintendoage Thread >> My new website!!

Dec 13, 2017 at 6:51:56 PM
juanmiglesias (0)

(juan iglesias) < Cherub >
Posts: 3 - Joined: 06/23/2010
Venezuela
Profile
anyone has news?, I am considering ordering a new eprom writer to be able to do 26l6420

Dec 15, 2017 at 8:34:54 AM
retronerd (0)
avatar
< Little Mac >
Posts: 82 - Joined: 06/02/2015
Sweden
Profile
There is a Guy WHO sells it om eBay and have a youtube video of it working. You can always buy it from him and see How its Done

Dec 20, 2017 at 8:43:00 AM
binkers87 (0)

< Cherub >
Posts: 8 - Joined: 05/06/2015
Profile
Where did you get that adapter that is on the 8Mbit ROM? I've been looking for something like that to handle larger sized TSOP chips

Dec 20, 2017 at 8:48:04 AM
binkers87 (0)

< Cherub >
Posts: 8 - Joined: 05/06/2015
Profile
Couldn't you also disable the check in the ROM? NOP it out?

Dec 20, 2017 at 9:38:23 AM
Ice Man (18)

< Meka Chicken >
Posts: 504 - Joined: 05/13/2016
Germany
Profile
Retrostage sells them.
I'm sure NOPing that out would work but might cause stability problems. The check is there for a reason I guess.

Dec 21, 2017 at 10:12:35 AM
ocdgamer (116)
avatar
(Kody K) < Eggplant Wizard >
Posts: 428 - Joined: 02/25/2011
Ohio
Profile
Here is some images of a working board. It's a bit more complicated than "3 wires". The chips on the back from left to right are 74HC320, 74HC00, R4513. It's not something I'm going to get into dissecting but if anyone's curious.



 

-------------------------
I have lots of SNES & NES reproductions for sale! >> Nintendoage Thread >> My new website!!

Dec 21, 2017 at 11:39:31 AM
Baby_rose (0)
avatar
(Kat Susanne ) < Tourian Tourist >
Posts: 32 - Joined: 06/08/2015
Louisiana
Profile
That's gotta be Drakon's work Lol. Fuggly!

Dec 21, 2017 at 11:39:36 AM
Gorillazero (53)
avatar
(Well That's Just Prime) < Lolo Lord >
Posts: 1806 - Joined: 07/26/2012
Michigan
Profile
aka too much work... hopefully a PCB could be built. nice work.

-------------------------
Bounty: Neo Geo Pocket and Color Games PAL/UK. Dive Alert, Pocket Reversi, Puzzle Link 1 and 2, Gals Fighters

Dec 21, 2017 at 12:05:21 PM
Baby_rose (0)
avatar
(Kat Susanne ) < Tourian Tourist >
Posts: 32 - Joined: 06/08/2015
Louisiana
Profile
I don't post much, mainly a lurker, but I've been following this project for a while - the translation aspect - and though this looks messy, I bet it's not too hard to clean all that up into a single micro controller chip. Really, probably a waste of a uC. It's just 2 gates after all.

Dec 21, 2017 at 2:25:44 PM
Ice Man (18)

< Meka Chicken >
Posts: 504 - Joined: 05/13/2016
Germany
Profile
That really looks weird but makes me curious as to why you would need so many ICs for that..

Jan 5, 2018 at 4:09:41 PM
Ice Man (18)

< Meka Chicken >
Posts: 504 - Joined: 05/13/2016
Germany
Profile
Any news on this? I'm still wondering why the RTC was removed and resoldered or how this was done actually.

Jan 6, 2018 at 12:41:28 AM
Baby_rose (0)
avatar
(Kat Susanne ) < Tourian Tourist >
Posts: 32 - Joined: 06/08/2015
Louisiana
Profile
As ugly as it is.... his rom adapter looks like it has a voltage translation chip on it (left side) which sits where the RTC used to be. Probably why he had to relocate the RTC. If I had the board, I could easily work all that out. But OCD won't answer my PM's. Hell, even better quality photos would be helpful.

Jan 6, 2018 at 3:07:01 PM
FishyFace Games (15)
avatar
(Fishy Face) < Eggplant Wizard >
Posts: 271 - Joined: 10/05/2015
Ohio
Profile
Originally posted by: ocdgamer

Here is some images of a working board. It's a bit more complicated than "3 wires". The chips on the back from left to right are 74HC320, 74HC00, R4513. It's not something I'm going to get into dissecting but if anyone's curious.



 

Well I’m definitely curious. Would love a breakdown/explanation.  Might help to get some other eyes on this project and possibly a simpler solution